Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We are looking for moderators.  Message the admin if interested.

Author Topic: Why are technical degrees or courses required?  (Read 5383 times)

joeylusptogov

Why are technical degrees or courses required?
« on: 06-22-13 at 10:41 am »

To become a patent examiner or attorney, one is required to get a technical degree or to at least take several technical courses that satisfy certain requirements.

I worked as a patent examiner in multiplex communications until about the beginning of 2005. My impression was that the USPTO was more of a legal institution than a scientific institution. The situation is probably the same today.

The work I did actually involved precious little, if any, technical knowledge. There was no math, and, as a general rule, I do not consider one to understand a technical subject unless one can do the math that is typically used for the subject. It's a simple matter to sit down, passively read claims, the specification, etc., and declare, "Duh, I understand this," but probably no examiner could pass an exam in the area of a typical patent application he or she examines. The same applies for patent attorneys and agents. 

Consider, for example, ATM, PSTN, or internet telephony. I never had any formal training in these areas. I just "learned" them passively by reading specifications and claims. The only "technical" knowledge demonstrated by a typical patent attorney or examiner was in block diagram form--the kind of knowledge a layperson gets from reading a popular science magazine. There is no way that a technical degree would be useful, except, perhaps, to gain the confidence of a client. The USPTO probably only requires technical training so that it can--inaccurately--maintain its public image as an institution that furthers the progress of science.