Should I get a Masters in EE?

Started by bobthemoose, 11-01-18 at 04:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bobthemoose

So I'm on the burnout train... I have worked three years at big law doing "software" patents that are rarely very innovative (lots of UX and data structure stuff). I want to do more patents that I have faith in - most of the time I'm asking myself "why in the world was this filed?!". I am especially interested in patents that are more tactile and technologically advanced. Right now I have minors and CS and physics but my major is non-science. I feel fully competent in EE tech (I grew up with circuits and love learning about it all). I am thinking that getting a EE degree will help expose me to more interesting material, either by lateraling or by helping my team bring in more interesting work.

Questions:
Would a EE degree help me get more interesting work?
Does it matter what tier of school I go to?
Does the type of program matter? Masters or BS/online or in person/thesis or course based...
Is there an alternative way to check that box on my resume? (e.g., FE exam)

ClaimMaster