Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We are looking for moderators.  Message the admin if interested.

Author Topic: Copyright thoughts please - Spiderman  (Read 485 times)

colinh

• View Profile
Copyright thoughts please - Spiderman
« on: 04-07-18 at 06:16 am »

Hello, I am a photographer from the UK.

Please can I ask what would your thoughts would be on this from a copyright perspective?

I've taken a photograph of a friend dressed up as Spiderman in the Cairngorms National Park in Scotland (a fun out-take after a running shoot as he uses the costume to raise money for children's charities).

A large US outdoor magazine wish to buy the picture and publish it in a section of their magazine and website.

Q. Can I sell the image to the magazine for editorial use without infringing Marvel's copyright?

I believe I can (based on editorial purposes not needing model releases) but I'm wary so I've written to Marvel to ask them.

What do you think is the correct answer though? I'm happy to share here once I get a response.

Thanks,

Colin

Robert T Nicholson

• View Profile
    • Robert Nicholson Consulting
    • Email
Re: Copyright thoughts please - Spiderman
« Reply #1 on: 04-07-18 at 07:17 pm »

I am in the US, so take what I have to say with a grain of salt - the laws may vary in the UK.

First - you own the copyright to the photo.  You can certainly sell your rights.

However, comic book characters are protected by both copyright and trademark law.  Generally, cosplay costumes get a pass, because comic book companies know that suing their fans is NOT good marketing.