Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We are looking for moderators.  Message the admin if interested.

Author Topic: What type of openings do I apply for?  (Read 816 times)

someguy

• View Profile
    • Email
What type of openings do I apply for?
« on: 04-03-18 at 03:55 pm »

Hi, I need advice on how to start my legal career.

Some Background: I'm an EE with 13 years experience in a semiconductor company. I have a BSEE, MSEE, JD, am a registered patent agent, and now am waiting on CA Feb-2018 bar results. I graduated law school 7 years ago, but remained an engineer afterwards for a variety of reasons (burnt out from law school, got promoted at work, engineering work became more interesting). I'm now more interested in law than engineering and want to make the switch.

I'm not a traditional applicant right out of law school, so I feel like it's going to be tough for me to get my foot in the door. I've seen little to no entry-level associate openings. Do I apply to lateral positions even though I have no legal experience? Do I apply to summer positions? Do I apply to patent agent positions? Would networking with hiring partners serve me better than applying online?

I've limited my search to California so far, but I'm open to relocating almost anywhere as my kids aren't in school yet and my wife isn't working.

Thanks!

Toot Aps Esroh

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: What type of openings do I apply for?
« Reply #1 on: 04-05-18 at 05:03 pm »

Hi, I need advice on how to start my legal career.