Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We are looking for moderators.  Message the admin if interested.

Author Topic: BS in physics interested in patent agent  (Read 2032 times)

Lighamus

• View Profile
BS in physics interested in patent agent
« on: 12-11-17 at 12:21 am »

I have been curious about trying to get a job as a patent agent of late.  I've no real experience in the field and am a recent graduate with a Bachelors in physics and Minor in Chemistry.  If I were to take a pass the exam, what is the job prognosis of someone with my qualifications?  From what I've read it seems that having a Physics BS is enough but I do not quite understand how you get your first year of experience really.

MYK

• Lead Member
    • View Profile
Re: BS in physics interested in patent agent
« Reply #1 on: 12-11-17 at 03:25 am »

From what I've heard, EE and CS are the degrees that firms are pursuing, along with some biotech (usually requires a Ph.D.).  If you look on PatentlyO.com for the job ads, you can get an idea of the market.

Physics is sufficient to take the exam, but may not be desirable enough to get you hired.  If you had a specific focus such as semiconductors, that might get you in at a firm with a lot of business in that field.

There are sometimes opportunities overseas (Japan, Taiwan, evil China, South Korea) if you don't mind the working environment which can be awful at some such firms.  Varies from "just get your work done" to "twelve hour days and then go out drinking with your coworkers until you barf, punishment for being ten seconds late on clock-in, and insane workload".  A guy I knew at one firm quit because he was expected to work a full normal day shift and then deal with USPTO phone interviews "on his own time" from roughly 10pm to 7am.