Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We are looking for moderators.  Message the admin if interested.

Author Topic: B.Kinesiology and looking to become Patent Agent  (Read 670 times)

AdamKlc

• View Profile
    • Email
B.Kinesiology and looking to become Patent Agent
« on: 02-27-18 at 03:58 pm »

I am an fourth year student at the University of Toronto graduating with a Bachelors of Kinesiology. I have several of questions with regards to becoming trademark/patent agent;

Is it feesible to pursue a career in CIPO with the education that I have. I understand the primary barrier is to find a company willing to employ as a patent trainee, however I am currently wondering whether there is a niche market within medical equipment/ sports equipment.

What is my best bet at pursuing a career in this field?

smgsmc

• Lead Member
    • View Profile
Re: B.Kinesiology and looking to become Patent Agent
« Reply #1 on: 02-28-18 at 09:27 am »

Welcome to the forum!  Unfortunately I don't think you'll get the advice you'll need here.  Most of us frequent posters are US practitioners, several are European practitioners.  I personally don't recall any Canadian posters here (and I've been posting since 2005), but I also don't follow all the subforums.

still_learnin

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 02-28-18 at 11:54 am »

smgsmc is right, the vast majority of traffic on this forum is from US practitioners, plus a few European.

You might want to check out the discussion forum for Patent Information Users Group (PIUG):
http://wiki.piug.org/display/PIUG/Forum+-+PIUG-DF

I don't frequent the forum, but it's shown up on a few of my internet searches. Appears to be focused on patent searching, but agents are often involved in searching. And I get the impression there is more non-US traffic there.