Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We are looking for moderators.  Message the admin if interested.

Author Topic: Too many transitions in law. What can I do now?  (Read 424 times)

screwed

• View Profile
    • Email
Too many transitions in law. What can I do now?
« on: 01-26-18 at 08:48 pm »

Hi,
I am a disaster. I have a PhD in biochemistry and law degree/patent agent, but unfortunately in around 12 years, I worked a four law firms and one inhouse job. To be fair, I was laid off of one of the firms due to lack of work and I left the last firm to go inhouse. However, I have now been laid off from my inhouse role, due to the company having mass layoffs. I do not have any clients and I guess with my numerous career transitions, I am not even getting any one (law firms or companies) returning my emails or responding to my resume. All my firms were decent firms, and I worked for a big company, but I guess none of this matters. I have been laid off for more than 3 months, with only 2 or 3 calls that never went further. It is also great to see how all those external lawyers who were always after my work when I was inhouse have completely ignored me. Being laid off teaches you who your friends are.
My questions are: Is there any way to hide job transitions on a resume or would law firms check my employment history anyway? Also, has anyone here sought work in another country such as Australia, the middle east, Singapore, etc. It looks like I may need to travel far away if I ever want to work as a lawyer again.
Thank you in advance.

MYK

• Lead Member
    • View Profile
Re: Too many transitions in law. What can I do now?
« Reply #1 on: 01-26-18 at 09:32 pm »