Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We are looking for moderators.  Message the admin if interested.

Author Topic: mid-life career change (via internal transfer?)  (Read 1330 times)

snapjack543

• View Profile
    • Email
mid-life career change (via internal transfer?)
« on: 12-08-17 at 01:19 am »

I've been a trader for 10+ years at a large trading firm.  I graduated 6 years ago from law school and I'm now trying to figure out a way to go into law.  To the extent it still matters, I was in the top third of my class at a 2nd tier law school (known for IP) with a certificate in IP; B.S. in Computer Science from a top top 5 engineering school; did decently in a few moot court competitions (won best brief a couple times), did a patent clinic while back in school. 

Upon graduating, I was offered a spot on a trading team and took it in lieu of starting my career in law.  I've always been interested in IP, but getting married and having kids in addition to my day job since law school really prevented me from keeping up to speed.  I'm now at a crossroads where my team might be winding down and I don't feel any desire to attempt to continue as a trader.