Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We are looking for moderators.  Message the admin if interested.

Author Topic: Working Remotely  (Read 1149 times)

novobarro

• View Profile
Working Remotely
« on: 11-19-17 at 02:25 am »

I have approximately 3 years of experience and am considering trying to find a work at home position.  Any downfalls to working at home?

smgsmc

• Lead Member
    • View Profile
Re: Working Remotely
« Reply #1 on: 11-19-17 at 06:50 am »

Attorney or agent?  Firm size (small, medium, big)?

novobarro

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 11-19-17 at 04:27 pm »

Attorney, small firm, 5-10 attorneys.  also, for a mid level attorney, what kind of interview questions should I expect to be asked, and what are some good questions to ask the firm during an interview?

Also, the primary reason I'm looking to switch is that the current firm is not able to give me enough work to bill hours.  Can I be honest in an interview and simply give this as a reason?
« Last Edit: 11-19-17 at 04:44 pm by novobarro »

smgsmc

• Lead Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 11-19-17 at 10:33 pm »

If you were working at a big law firm, in which there were opportunities to make partner, then you would hurt your chances at making partner because you would be invisible while at home.  At a small firm with little opportunity to make partner, however, that issue is moot.

The major downside is that you're switching firms.  With 3 yrs experience, you would still benefit from receiving help from more experienced attorneys (even if just in dealing with specific clients who are new to you).  If you were staying at a firm in which you had already established good relationships, you could always just call up your old buddies.  In a new firm, though, it's not clear how much help to expect from strangers should you call.