Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We are looking for moderators.  Message the admin if interested.

Author Topic: Does law school choice matter for biglaw patent work?  (Read 831 times)

dallin_packard

• View Profile

I am an EE undergrad looking at law schools, and I know I want to land a biglaw position as a patent attorney in Houston, Texas. Would my chances of getting in at one of those firms be greater as a University of Texas graduate, or as a Chicago/Columbia/New York University graduate?

MYK

• Lead Member
    • View Profile
Re: Does law school choice matter for biglaw patent work?
« Reply #1 on: 10-30-17 at 09:15 pm »

UT Austin should feed well into Texas law firms.  The T14 schools feed well into biglaw firms nationwide.  If you're dead-set on Houston only, UT Austin should be ok.  Your chances might go up a hair from the higher-ranked schools, but the competition will be a hair harder too.
"The life of a patent solicitor has always been a hard one."  Judge Giles Rich, Application of Ruschig, 379 F.2d 990.

Disclaimer: not only am I not a lawyer, I'm not your lawyer.  Therefore, this does not constitute legal advice.

dallin_packard

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 10-30-17 at 09:20 pm »

That makes sense. My wife and I are both from Houston and want to be close to family, so Houston is pretty much a lock. I'll wait until admissions/scholarships start coming in and then make a decision. With a scholarship UT would definitely be more appealing. But having recently scored higher on the LSAT than I anticipated (expected 167, scored 172) I'm having to look at schools I hadn't considered and weigh them against my initial plans.

Dazed-n-confused

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 10-30-17 at 11:34 pm »