Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We are looking for moderators.  Message the admin if interested.

Author Topic: information on Patent attorney  (Read 1054 times)

Raja

• View Profile
    • Email
information on Patent attorney
« on: 06-21-17 at 07:43 am »

Hello All,
I got an offer as 'trainee European patent attorney' (EPA) in a medium sized pvt. firm in Germany. Although the salary is low (around gross 3100 euro per month), I decided to go for it. I am curious to know the future of my job (I am actually new to IP jobs) after becoming EPA. Especially how much the salary will I receive after acquiring EPA? During my interview they informed me that there will be incentives/bonus during the trainee period, but how much I can expect?
Thanks for your reply, Raj.

bartmans

• View Profile
Re: information on Patent attorney
« Reply #1 on: 06-22-17 at 05:54 am »

Dear Raja,

although there are differences from country to country and even within a country there are differences from firm to firm, it is to be expected that a European patent attorney would earn about 70-80K in the first years after getting registered. Next to the gross salary also other items play a role, such as bonuses, pension scheme and health insurance, expense compensations, provisions for a company car, company telephone, company journal subscriptions etc.
As you may realise the inclusion of these components in the gross income can make a world of a difference.

After the first years it will depend on your role (whether you become partner or senior associate) how and to which height your salary will rise.

Raja

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: 06-22-17 at 09:42 am »

Dear Bartmans,
Thanks for your reply.
Finally I got to know about the typical salary of trainee positions. It seems that only in big companies the salary will be higher, usually 55 k p.a.
Regards, Raj.