Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We are looking for moderators.  Message the admin if interested.

Author Topic: Photograph copyright infringement  (Read 1181 times)

jerhutch

• View Profile
    • Email
Photograph copyright infringement
« on: 05-07-17 at 12:08 pm »

I am a photographer and took/produced a nice shot of a home next to a creek.   It was a night shot with reflections in the water of the house, stars, etc.    I showed the photo to the landowner and he wanted a copy of it and I emailed it to him.    Now I noticed  that his house if for sale and his flyers on the post in front of his house has one pic and it's my photo.    I looked on the real estate website and the first pic they  have is my photo.   I also noticed that they have a copyright on all of the photos including my photo.    Although I emailed the photo to them, I did not give them any specific rights to it.
My question is do I have any recourse?

artchain

• View Profile
    • ArtChain Artist and Art Group Directory
    • Email
Re: Photograph copyright infringement
« Reply #1 on: 05-07-17 at 02:39 pm »

Yes, you have recourse.

The first thing you should do is figure out what you want.  What would make this right for you?

Then contact the homeowner and see if you can work something out.  Often people simply don't understand that physical possession of a photo does not give them the right to reproduce it.

If the homeowner won't cooperate, the next step would be to hire a lawyer to send a cease-and-desist / demand letter.  Often getting a letter from an attorney is all it takes, but that will cost you a few hundred dollars.