Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We are looking for moderators.  Message the admin if interested.

Author Topic: Use of video/scan to present a complete work of Art (photobook)  (Read 814 times)

cfocket

• View Profile
    • Email

Hi everybody,

It's my first post here, I'm a web developer and a programmer wondering about copyright infringement on the web.

I especially wonder about the use of photos and video to showcase a complete work of art such as a photobook.

I see a lot of bloggers who present photobooks to their audience showing a complete video of the full book.

A concrete example is a POV youtube video of a fan who goes through all the pages of the Robert Frank's book, The Americans.

Still, the user states that "NB: No copyright infringement intended. I am a fan of Robert Frank's work, I love photo books, and I hope this video will inspire people to purchase photo books as well."

My question is : is there any legal right for the publisher to ask for the video/scan to be deleted ?

Thanks a lot for your time.

Kind regards
Clem

artchain

• View Profile
    • ArtChain Artist and Art Group Directory
    • Email

Think about what copyright means, at the most basic level.  You can't copy another person's work, except for very specific exceptions.

The video, although it is a different media, is certainly copying and presenting the original work.

It doesn't matter what disclaimer the "fan" puts on it.  The publisher would have every right to have the material taken down, and in fact to sue the person who posted it for copyright infringement if they chose to do so.

If you are a web developer, you really need to have a working understanding of copyright law.  There are some good resources at:

http://www.copyrightsafeguard.com/

This post is provided for information purposes only, and does not constitute legal advice.