UML diagrams for software patent drawings

Started by mattashman, 11-21-05 at 10:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mattashman

Hi there.  I am a new patent agent working for a small startup company.  I am considering using UML 2.0 activity diagrams to illustrate a novel software/hardware invention.  This style of diagram is much more clear than standard "flowsheet" diagrams for illustrating multi-threaded and asynchronous processes.

Does anyone have experience with using UML in a patent claim?  Is it advisable to use any unfamiliar types of diagrams in an application, if they are more clear and precise as a result?

Thanks!
mattashman

JimIvey

I don't have experience with UML diagrams, but I'll offer a few thoughts.

The nice thing about flowcharts is that they can map nicely to a method claim.  I think they also speak at a lower level of abstraction and that helps avoid vagueness issues.  Software engineers sometimes anthropomorphize their software -- this module hopes to do this, it wants to do that, it likes receiving messages in this format but it can cope if it receives messages in that format, etc.  I believe that such anthropomorphizing can lead to vagueness issues, and I'm not sure UML diagrams avoid those issues as much.

I have to admit that I believe UML diagrams came into vogue well after I left software design, so I'm at a disadvantage relative to current engineers.  However, I'll go ahead and risk showing ignorance with these beliefs re UML diagrams.

I believe UML diagrams illustrate what a piece of software is, rather than what it does -- in class definitions, attributes, functions.  In a way, I think that can provide good support for article/machine claims (something other than a method).