Looking for guidance for next step

Started by kingcsi, 10-27-10 at 09:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kingcsi

Hello - first post here and I am looking for a little insight.  I'm currently a small business owner and I have come up with an idea that is quite solid that I would like to bring to market.  The idea has great potential to be used worldwide in multiple commercial applications.  Now, this concept needs to utilize a touch screen computer just like the iPad from Apple while utilizing a custom written software program.

Question 1: Can I legally use/incorporate the iPad to develop a new product? 
Question 2: From what I gather it takes years for a patent to be approved so how can someone get something to market quickly without their idea being stolen and developed by a company and/or individual with deep pockets?  (I obviously don't understand how they work)
Question 3: Is it better to partner with a large company to develop the idea?  Following up that question with; or better to sell the idea?  Would you still need a patient to do any of question 3 or just a Confidential Agreement?  I understand that going this route would mean I wouldn't fully benefit financially as I would if I did this on my own but I am fine with that.

This idea is not a pie in the sky - 'might work' - it has strong mass potential and is currently not in the market place. 

I truly appreciate any guidance you offer in this preliminary stage.  Thank you.

JimIvey

Look to Apple's web site for an SDK (Software Developer's Kit).  I've used one for Android (and there are Android-based tablets if Apple turns out to be a little strict for your purposes).

You don't need a patent to make and sell something.  However, doing so might infringe the patents of others.  That's true whether you have your own patent or not.