Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We are looking for moderators.  Message the admin if interested.

Author Topic: Office Action Response When Examiner is Wrong  (Read 266 times)

johnwire

• View Profile
Office Action Response When Examiner is Wrong
« on: 11-07-17 at 06:07 pm »

I'm a Pro Se applicant and have an Office Action response due on Friday.  I'm in pretty good shape but would like an opinion or 2 on one thing.  When I received the Office Action in August, it was apparent that the Examiner didn't fully understand what I was  my device did.  I received 112, 102, and 103 rejections.  The 112 and the 103 were easily handled but the 102 is tricky for reasons that I explain below.  I had a Telephone Interview with the Examiner and sent an agenda prior wherein, rather than saying that he was wrong, I asked for direction on how I should address the rejections given that ... and I respectfully indicated areas of his misunderstanding with my device.  I made the Interview call and the Examiner was helpful, and wasn't offended by my approach in the agenda.

I think he was "on my side" after reading the agenda, then after we went over the 112 issue verbally, he was extremely helpful giving me advice on what to respond for the 103.  For the 102 he said that I should distinguish my Claim 1 against what he said about the Claim 1 of the "anticipated over" patent that he listed, but what he said in the Office Action makes no sense because (a) it was written when he didn't understand my device, and (b) after I read his "anticipated over" patent entirely, it was apparent to me that he misunderstood that patent as well.  So any reference that I make to what he said there, would have to correct him regarding his interpretation of the "anticipated over" patent AND correct him regarding my device.

I'm not sure that I want to do that much "correcting".