Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New registrations are now permitted.

Author Topic: Advice on operating as a consultant  (Read 1293 times)

roburrito

• View Profile
Advice on operating as a consultant
« on: 11-01-11 at 02:16 pm »

I am currently working as an "IP Strategist" at a small automotive company. Basically I review what we're developing, find potential IP, write patent proposals, and work with outside counsel to get applications written and filed. I started here as an intern. Lately work has been slow. The VP of my company referred another company to me to do some similar work. I'm not sure how to proceed. I am a registered patent attorney and would rather not get paid like an intern. As a consultant I'm not sure 1) how much to charge 2) whether I need malpractice insurance 3) if there's anything else I'd need to do. I know the typical advice is to work at a firm before hanging your own shingle, but I haven't had much luck finding a position at a firm. Any advice or info would be appreciated.

As far as info about myself, I am located in the Boston area. I have a BS in Aerospace Engineering but most of my experience has been with automotive companies.

NJ Patent1

• Lead Member
    • View Profile
Re: Advice on operating as a consultant
« Reply #1 on: 11-01-11 at 05:25 pm »

Ruburitto:  Ahh, not easy questions:

1)  How much to charge?  Ties into Q2.  What "services" are you / would you provide?  As a "consultant" mining for IP and writing proposals and "facilitating" drafting?  Doesn't sound like providing legal svcs.  My best guess, is circa $80 / hr (Bos about 95% of NYC).