Intellectual Property Forum The Intellectual Property Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New registrations are now permitted.

Author Topic: Patent Agent to Patent Examiner Transition  (Read 3276 times)

jobxtransition

• View Profile
    • Email
Patent Agent to Patent Examiner Transition
« on: 12-28-10 at 04:36 pm »

Hi All,

I've been a Patent Agent for about 4 years.

The firm I am currently working for is paying a salary of $65K a year.

I've been with this firm for over 2 years but it doesn't seem like they will be giving out any bonuses or raises.

My only option in making more money is to either look for a different firm that will pay more, but with this job-market, its unlikely I will get more than $65K a year.

On the flip side, I can apply for a Patent Examiner job and get paid around $65K. 

There is also the potential of overtime pay and yearly raises to a certain point if I get a job as a Patent Examiner - not to mention job security.

What are everyone's thoughts on this transition?

Is it worth doing a mind-numbing job at the PTO or is it better to stay-put as a Patent Agent?

Thanks.

Zing

• View Profile
Re: Patent Agent to Patent Examiner Transition
« Reply #1 on: 12-29-10 at 07:42 am »

That sounds awfully low for an agent with 4 years of experience.

If you don't mind me asking, what is your billing rate and how many hours do you bill in a year?

smgsmc

• Lead Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 12-29-10 at 08:27 am »

What part of the country are you in?  Are you in a major metro area? 

jobxtransition

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: 12-29-10 at 05:31 pm »

I work in a small patent firm in Washington, DC.

I and the other associates at the firm do not bill by the hour.

Rather, the firm charges a fixed fee for responding to office actions, notice of appeals, appeal briefs, etc.