The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Oct 22nd, 2019, 11:33pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Is it Patentable?
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   new medical drug applications
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: new medical drug applications  (Read 705 times)
mike partton
new medical drug applications
« on: Aug 26th, 2005, 12:08am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I am a medical doctor with a background in research and drug design.  Recently, I came across a new pathway that was discovered for an older drug (that is now generic).  To make a long story short, I have reasonable proof that this drug, designed to protect the heart, can be used to treat cancer.  Based on comments made under the prior thread of  

“Patent an existing product for a different use”

I believe this clearly fits under the definition you gave of:

“Any new and non-obvious ("inventive") use of pre-existing things is patentable.  Any new and non-obvious ("inventive") modifications to an existing thing is also patentable.”

So my questions are:

1) What is my next step to get this patented??
2) How much would it cost??
3) How would I make money on this patent given that the drug is already generic??

Thank you!!
mike

IP Logged
JimIvey

jamesdivey  

Re: new medical drug applications
« Reply #1 on: Aug 26th, 2005, 11:36am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

First, a big-time caveat:  pharmaceutical practice is a specialty onto its own, and I'm not even moderately experienced in it.

on Aug 26th, 2005, 12:08am, mike partton wrote:
1) What is my next step to get this patented??