The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 14th, 2020, 9:35pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Is it Patentable?
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Advice needed
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Advice needed  (Read 1011 times)
Osborne

Advice needed
« on: Jun 8th, 2005, 10:56am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I have been working on an invention of mine since 1987. To cut a long story short as time is of the essence I have now realised that I can do it in software. However I let this slip and now third parties whom I cannot trust have this information. I need to secure the worldwide rights to my idea in the next day or so. What is the best thing I could do. I could never get a detailed patent together in three days is there something i can give to the patent office that will suffice in the short term to protect myself?
Thanks in advance
IP Logged
JimIvey

jamesdivey  

Re: Advice needed
« Reply #1 on: Jun 8th, 2005, 12:54pm »

Some will tell you to "just file a provisional".  The problem with that approach is that there is no relaxed standard for sufficiency of disclosure for a provisional application, although many seem to assume there is (or at least act like there is).

The bottom line is this:  a sufficient disclosure to support your claims (whatever they may ultimately be) is required.  If the disclosure is sufficient within a particular application, there's no reason not to file non-provisionally.  If the disclosure is insufficient, having it on file as a provisional is inadequate.