The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jan 27th, 2023, 6:11pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Obviousness
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   patentability question
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: patentability question  (Read 1406 times)
mdm

patentability question
« on: Feb 20th, 2004, 8:05am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Thanks in advance to anyone who can provide some insight into this patentability question.  I am currently an unemployed engineer , over 50 years old with very specialized skills in a shrinking industry.   While this idea may be a break I could really use at this time, I would appreciate some feedback on patentability before I invest significantly more time and money into the idea.  It appears that it will cost me about $700 to $1000 just for an initial assessment by an attorney without a search.  I have done the internet search and  I have read some literature on patents but have not seen any guidance about this type of question.  

I will describe a hypothetical idea that has many parallels to the one that I have in mind.

Consider the old cassette tapes that became a standard form of carrying around our music after 8 tracks died.  In order to carry or store the tapes,  various devices evolved with multiple storage compartments specifically designed to hold the standard cassette tape case.   These devices were sometimes portable cases or perhaps cassette storage compartments built into center consoles in our cars.