The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 9th, 2020, 7:57am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums
   Other
   Trademark Forum
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Infringers of common law trademark
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Infringers of common law trademark  (Read 456 times)
Samantha S.
Infringers of common law trademark
« on: Jul 4th, 2007, 7:18am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Here's my dilemma ... I have been using my mark in business since roughly 1998.  Up until late last year, this was just a part-time business, but now I have gone into it full-time.  I set myself up as an LLC and began the process of applying for national trademark registration for my mark.  I searched TESS and found nothing that conflicted (from all the options I could think of), so the process has begun.  After doing so, I found another person is using an almost identical name for the same type of business, though it appears they have only been doing it for the past two years.  The business I am in is internet-based and because of that, I have had clients across the US (as has this other person, I would think), so we are in competition for the same business even though we are in different states.