The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Nov 24th, 2017, 3:14pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Other
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Intellectual Property for a Game ...
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Intellectual Property for a Game ...  (Read 721 times)
primalfire

Intellectual Property for a Game ...
« on: Aug 21st, 2007, 9:51pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I am a novice at intellectual property laws, and some idea's on where to look and how to approach this would be useful. Here is the challenge:

There is a game which was made in 1994 which became very popular. They had exclusive licensing rights with a familiar movie. When the gaming company who owned the game lost the rights to use the movie materials, the game died.

Very few people play this game, yet the mechanics of the game are excellent, elegant, and world-class.

I would like to utilize certain pieces of those mechanics.  

I will make it clear that I do not want to 'remake' the game with a different face, I have greatly modified the mechanics of the game.

Yet, there are three areas where the mechanics uniquely operate together that draws my interest.

These distinct aspects, when considered separately and apart from one another, are common to every game.

It's the combination of these aspects which intrigue me.

I am able to modify every other aspect to the game, and have greatly improved upon all other mechanics.

I would:

A> Like to know how to track down exactly what has been copyrighted / protected as intellectual property.

B> Am interested if the foundational concepts of a game, such a random numbers and rolling dice, or using counters, or using cards a certain way, can be protected.