The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jun 20th, 2018, 4:52pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Drafting/Interpretation
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Best Patent Practicioners to Learn From
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Best Patent Practicioners to Learn From  (Read 3264 times)
Agent_Smiley

Best Patent Practicioners to Learn From
« on: Sep 24th, 2007, 11:11am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I've been a registered patent agent for over a year now and have had the opportunity to work under a couple different patent attorneys whose drafting styles are very different. It's difficult to say whose is best and while I've read many patents that seemed better-written than others, their true value doesn't become apparent until they are litigated.

Does anyone here recommend the styles of a particular practicioner whose work can be viewed, for example, in patents that have survived the test of fire?
IP Logged
patent_type

Re: Best Patent Practicioners to Learn From
« Reply #1 on: Sep 25th, 2007, 8:39pm »

Nope, sorry.  

But I will recommend that you ask the attorneys with whom you are working *why* they do some of the things they do.  Your style will end up being a blend of the folks with whom you work and the applications/caselaw you read.  You can always read the claims of the patents in major law-setting litigation and see claims the courts say were done properly and the claims that were done improperly.
IP Logged
DJoshEsq

Email

« Reply #2 on: Sep 27th, 2007, 12:08am »