The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
May 24th, 2019, 3:36pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Attend a T15-T20 or Tier 2 with $$?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Attend a T15-T20 or Tier 2 with $$?  (Read 4293 times)
BSEE

Attend a T15-T20 or Tier 2 with $$?
« on: Dec 4th, 2007, 2:30pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I haven't really been able to get solid advice on this subject on law school discussion forums. I'm a Texas resident with an undergraduate degree in Electrical Engineering graduating with honors from a top program. I want to work in Texas, with no real strong preference for any particular city.

I'm applying to law schools next year and obviously I'm hoping to get into UT Law, but in the chance that this does not happen, does it make sense to try and apply to a large number of schools in the T15-T20 (Georgetown PT, WUSTL, Vandy, George Washington, etc) and have to pay a large premium for these schools (likely 140k+ debt), or would it make more sense simply to go to the next top programs in Texas like UH, SMU, or Baylor with scholarship money?

If I'm not admitted to Texas, I'm thinking seriously about attending UH. I know secondary rankings are usually regarded as meaningless, but Houston does have strong recognition in IP. Going to UH would only cost me ~40-50k in total, maybe even less than that. I also would not mind working in the Houston market.

Any advice you can give me on this situation is much appreciated.

« Last Edit: Dec 4th, 2007, 2:31pm by BSEE » IP Logged
Blebbing Ameoba
Re: Attend a T15-T20 or Tier 2 with $$?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 4th, 2007, 10:59pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove