The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 14th, 2019, 4:59pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Patent agent in paralegal category?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Patent agent in paralegal category?  (Read 2703 times)
Guest890
Patent agent in paralegal category?
« on: Oct 16th, 2007, 8:12pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I am a patent agent with 2+ years of EE experience.  

I recently interview with a large GP firm, with about 15 patent attorneys and 2 patent agents.  During the interview I was told that the firm categorizes patent agents as paralegals, and accordingly, the compensation structure and benefits are in line with the paralegals (although the salary would be higher than an average paralegal, I assume).

I think I might get an offer from the firm, and we haven't discussed any compensation scheme yet.

Is it customary to treat patent agents as a dignified / experienced paralegal? My current firm treats me at par with any other patent attorneys (although currently my salary is slightly less than an entry level attorney).  

Or may be I am just overreacting!!

Thanks in advance.
IP Logged
pentazole

Re: Patent agent in paralegal category?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 16th, 2007, 8:29pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Sounds bogus to me.  A patent agent is not a paralegal, and if you're classified as such good luck getting any kind of independence.
IP Logged
Wiscagent

« Reply #2 on: Oct 16th, 2007, 8:48pm »

"the compensation structure and benefits are in line with the paralegals"