The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2019, 9:55am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Big, general practice firm vs medium sized firm
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Big, general practice firm vs medium sized firm  (Read 1141 times)
Guest345
Big, general practice firm vs medium sized firm
« on: Oct 10th, 2007, 6:32pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I am a patent agent, with electrical engg. background and 2 years of prosecution experience.

I am planning to change my job and have two tentative offers.  

One is from a general law firm with about 200+ attorneys, out of which about 20 are involved in IP stuff. Other lawers practice other areas of law.

The second firm focuses solely on patent prosecution and has around 15 lawyers.

I haven't talked about compensation with any of the firms.  Before doing so, can someone please advise me on which firm (big, general practice firm vs medium sized IP focused firm), in general, may provide a better work environment?

Thanks a bunch!
IP Logged
PA
Re: Big, general practice firm vs medium sized fir
« Reply #1 on: Oct 10th, 2007, 8:30pm »

It's impossible to say in generalities.  I've seen good and bad for large GP firms as well as smaller, IP focused firms.

That said, regardless of firm size, I think it's important that you feel comfortable with the people you work for and work with.  It's also important that the firm does the kind of work that you want to do.
IP Logged
Guest 345
« Reply #2 on: Oct 11th, 2007, 11:59am »

Thanks for the reply. But given that the focus of a large GP firm is usually not IP, do the IP guys get a step motherly behavior?
IP Logged
MattB

mbycer   MBycer
Email