The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 11th, 2019, 1:55pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   IT Consulting vs Law
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: IT Consulting vs Law  (Read 3483 times)
igbobobo
IT Consulting vs Law
« on: Sep 13th, 2007, 9:06pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Howdy folks.  

I need some advice. I知 about 25 making 70k, working really long hrs, with a big IT consulting firm. I have an engineering degree EE from top 10 school. I知 thinking about law school, in particular, patent law because I have a very strong entrepreneurial  passion. No, I don稚 want to be the guy inventing stuff, I just like to know how stuff works in general.  

I知 not crazy about engineering, consulting or even law either, so I don稚 mind doing em.  

My concerns:  
-I値l prob get into tier 1 or 2 school, so will the risk/reward be worth it?  
-anyone have similar experience?  
-I知 pretty confident I値l find a job so I知 curious what starting salaries are for IP lawyers  
-In the 3 yrs invested in law school I値l prob be making 80-85K, should I stay with my current company. Should I risk it?  

Honestly I used to think engineers were cool, so I became one. Now I think lawyers are cool and I知 prob going to become one, so there痴 no deep passion here.  
I just tend to work really hard for things I want.  

Awaiting some great feedback/comments
IP Logged
ffwcs

Re: IT Consulting vs Law
« Reply #1 on: Oct 6th, 2007, 8:35am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify