The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 16th, 2020, 3:32pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Patent Lawyer at a Startup?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Patent Lawyer at a Startup?  (Read 798 times)
vnayini

Patent Lawyer at a Startup?
« on: Aug 2nd, 2007, 11:12pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi,

I am an undergraduate student studying materials engineering. I have been interested in the possibility of pursuing a career in patent law, but also think it would be very exciting to be involved with a startup company. It's still early for me to commit myself to a specific career path and I am keeping all my options open, but when i imagine a place that would be intellectual stimulating for me and a career that really gets me excited for the future, it would be one that involved working very closely with a company that's just getting its foot in the door.

I was wondering what kind of opportunities are available to patent attorneys who, rather than pursueing a more traditional route of working for a law firm or as an in-house attorney for a medium-large size company, would like to serve as an in house attorney to a startup biotech company for example.

Do startups generally look to outsource their patent business to law firms?

How would the nature of your work be different?

Am I right to make the assumption that such a lawyer could find themselves more heavily involved in other facets of the company's business and law-related issues?

Is anyone on this forum pursuing such a career?

Thanks.
IP Logged
TataBoxInhibitor

Re: Patent Lawyer at a Startup?
« Reply #1 on: Aug 3rd, 2007, 11:42am »