The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 8th, 2019, 3:15am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Part-Time vs. Full-Time Law School
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Part-Time vs. Full-Time Law School  (Read 6704 times)
TraleBlayzer
Part-Time vs. Full-Time Law School
« on: Jun 20th, 2007, 10:21am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Hello everyone.

I've got an MS in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from an Ivy League school, and I've been working in the field for about 2 years.  I worked in the manufacturing field for most of that time, got bored, and now I've moved into Software Consulting.  I'm now very interested in going back to school for a degree in Law.

The dilemma is this...  continue working (good salary 75k) and go to school part time, or leave work and live on a shoe-string so that I can go full time.  There are ups and downs to both.

If I go part time, I keep getting paid, but I'll have to fit the school work in after my job.  This is bound to make good grades harder to acheive, raise my level of stress considerably, and make the whole experience take a year or two longer.  Also, the highest level schools do not offer part time programs.

If I were to choose the full time route, it'd mean no salary (or finding some small part-time job) and living like a grad student again.  However, I'd be able to dedicate my time to my studies, and maximize my performance.  The program would be shorter than part time, and I could apply to all the good places here in the North East.