The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 7th, 2019, 2:00pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Getting into part time law
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Getting into part time law  (Read 1524 times)
want2bepatat

Getting into part time law
« on: Mar 29th, 2007, 9:32pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

What else is important to get into a top ten part time program other than a good LSAT score and GPA? Will lack of extracurricular activities affect admission decision in a big way at all? Thanks.
IP Logged
Bill Richards

WWW Email

Re: Getting into part time law
« Reply #1 on: Mar 31st, 2007, 4:34am »

I did my law degree parttime at night while working full time.  It was a second career, so my work and life experiences were heavily in my favor.  LSAT and GPA are certainly the main drivers, but, for a part-time program, other things can overcome a less-than-stellar LSAT and GPA.  Certainly, outside activities and the life and work expreriences I just mentioned can help.  If your LSAT and GPA are great, then those other things probably won't matter much.  Most schools allow a "Personal Statement" and that can be helpful in cases like yours.  Another factor is recommendations from others, particularly attorneys who know you well.
Good Luck!
« Last Edit: Mar 31st, 2007, 4:35am by Bill Richards » IP Logged

William B. Richards, P.E.
The Richards Law Firm
Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights
614/939-1488
want2bepatat

« Reply #2 on: Apr 1st, 2007, 8:27am »

thanks Bill.
IP Logged
biopico

« Reply #3 on: Apr 1st, 2007, 2:34pm »

on Mar 29th, 2007, 9:32pm, want2bepatat wrote: