The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Sep 23rd, 2019, 5:26am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Career Advice
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Career Advice  (Read 14094 times)
bobloblaw

Career Advice
« on: Mar 22nd, 2007, 6:10pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

My first post on this forum.  There seems to be a lot of knowledgeable people here and I really needed some advice.

I have a bachelors in chemical engineering and a jd from a tier 2 school.  I took and passed the patent agent exam.  While I don't have any relevant work experience, I have taken every single ip course available and then some.  

I graduated right in the middle of my class and was having a hard time finding a permanent position.  I took a contract position at a big law firm doing doc review but after a month I was assigned primarily trademark work.  I am now in a staff position handling trademark work that a paralegal could do.  

I really want to eventually become a patent prosecutor and litigator, but it seems that there aren't many places that are willing to hire someone with no experience or a EE.

Lately I've been thinking about what I should do and have come up with a few courses of action.  I'm still only 27, so time isn't an issue and I've grown accustomed to living in genteel poverty.

1.  Stick it out as a big law staff attorney.  Hopefully they'll throw some patent work my way and I'll be able to gain some experience.  At best I'd be able to maybe move into an associate position (very unlikely) or be blackballed as a staff attorney for the rest of my law career.