The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 6th, 2019, 8:33pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Looking for honest advice
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Looking for honest advice  (Read 694 times)
edward
Looking for honest advice
« on: Mar 6th, 2007, 1:36pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Looking for some honest advice on future outlook with the steps that I've taken.  
I first got a B.S. in biology, went directly to law school at the University of Missori-Columbia, usually ranked 50-60th, were I graduated about middle of my class.  After law school, practiced for two years in non-patent litigation. Currently working on an M.S. in Biotechnology.  I've just had an opportunity come up to work on a thesis with my Master's, but at the same time a non-patent litigation job has been offered to me in the central part of Missouri so no patent work could realistically become part of my practice.
I am licensed in Missouri and with the USPTO.  Given my background, is it realistic that if I finish my M.S. with thesis, that I would be able to break in to the patent legal arena or if not, would it be better advice to go ahead and take a non-patent job and leave patent behind.
I truelly appreciate the advice. In addition, any biotech participants, I would appreciate the thoughts and rumors about the future of this particular area.
IP Logged
biopico

Re: Looking for honest advice
« Reply #1 on: Mar 6th, 2007, 2:25pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Getting your MS is one thing; practicing patent law is another.