The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 12th, 2019, 5:57am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Am I stupid to turn down law school?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Am I stupid to turn down law school?  (Read 2596 times)
Matthew
Am I stupid to turn down law school?
« on: Feb 23rd, 2007, 9:50am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Long story short: Got into a top 10 school, deferred admission for a year to think about it some more after getting cold feet, still not sure.

I'm a fresh engineering grad (EE, top of class) and was lured to law school by the 'hot' field of patent law. After talking to a lot of lawyers, I realized the cold hard reality of big-firm life and could never find a single person that said they loved it. Many were suicidal at times. I don't really want to get trapped in that, and I seem to have an alright future in engineering (won't be making $200k in 4 years like I would if I went to this law school and did well, but quality of life is very good) and I'm much more of a science type of person academically and professionally anyway. Is patent law any different? I don't know. Overall, everything about the field of law seemed to be driven by one thing - money. I don't know if I could stomach what it takes to make money the end-all in my life. Plus I'm not a big city person anyway. I have no desire to live in or near a major metropolitan area or work more than 50 hours/week.

So I feel pretty confident in telling the school no thanks, but it's hard to do when I consistently hear family and friends saying 'you got in to ****x-Law and you're not even going? Are you f'ing retarded?' Well, it is $150k in debt...