The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jan 31st, 2023, 10:45pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   too late?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: too late?  (Read 2937 times)
engtolaw

too late?
« on: Oct 29th, 2006, 6:59pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I am an electrical engineer with over 10 years of experience. I would like to become a patent lawyer.
But, by the time I would become one, I would be 43 years old. Is it too late to start a career in law at 43? I don't have friends or neighbors or...that can help with jobs.

Thank you in advance
IP Logged
Patent_Type

Re: too late?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 31st, 2006, 12:13am »

My advice: stay where you are and enjoy your free time.  Get a hobby and go on some nice vacations to National Parks.  There are some very amazing places in the United States that most people don't even know about.

No, seriously -- you already have 10 years of experience.  You most likely have some tenure in your current job and can begin to assume management roles.  See if your employer will help you get an executive MBA.  Switching to patent law means you will spend the next 3 or 4 years incredibly swamped with law school, and then you will enter the ranks of lawyers at the bottom of the totem pole as a junior associate.  You will be working insane hours trying to get up to speed with all the new skills, laws, rules, etc.  Bottom line: ten years from now you will be in debt, no free time and incredibly stressed out.  Weigh that with where you might be if you stayed in your current job for 10 years.