The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jun 1st, 2020, 4:58am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Software for patent drawings
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Software for patent drawings  (Read 2493 times)
greenfield

Software for patent drawings
« on: Apr 3rd, 2006, 6:33pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I am a newly minted patent agent.  I would like to purchase a good (but hopefully not too expensive) CAD software for creating patent application drawings.  I was wondering if anyone knows and can recommend such a program.
IP Logged
Isaac

Re: Software for patent drawings
« Reply #1 on: Apr 4th, 2006, 6:18am »

When I was doing patent work as a solo, I considered using autocad and spent some time figuring out how to use it.   The learning curve for using CAD programs is fairly steep.    

I think there are one or two free clones of autocad out there whose names I don't recall.   I think it a search for free autocad clone will turn up something.

You might want to consider whether it makes sense ecomonically to do your own drawings.   For simple drawings like flowcharts and block diagrams, programs like word and photoshop seem to work well enough.   For complex mechanical drawings, it might make more sense to contract the drawings out.
IP Logged

Isaac
TataBoxInhibitor

« Reply #2 on: Apr 4th, 2006, 7:34pm »

I have been using PowerCADD.   It works really well.   I do not think it takes as long to learn as autoCADD.   I think that the program you use really depends on the type of drawings you are aiming to do.   I have used AutoDesk, CADintosh, SketchUp, AutoCADD and I modify things with Adobe Photoshop.