The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 5th, 2019, 10:39pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   What focus would be the most beneifical
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: What focus would be the most beneifical  (Read 1444 times)
Brett Memmott
What focus would be the most beneifical
« on: Jan 26th, 2006, 9:37pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Hi, i am a junior Chemical Engineering student and am planning on attending law school.  I am at the point in my education where i need to select a focus.  I am currently deciding between BioChem and Reaction Chemistry.  Would any cary and advantage for my future plans of Patent Law?  Thanks
IP Logged
J.B.Shah
Re: What focus would be the most beneifical
« Reply #1 on: Jan 27th, 2006, 3:39pm »

Brett:

I am also a Chem Eng major (graduated 2001) and am currently in law school studying Intellectual Property - Patent Law.  I did my concentration in Colloids & Polymers and a minor in Biomedical & Health Engineering.  I would strongly recommend taking a sequence of courses in Biomedical Engineering if they are available to you.  The coatings background has come up huge for me in interviews with pharmaceutical-related firms and biomed/biotech is a hot area right now.  Anything biotech that you can get on your resume will help you greatly.  That is my strongest recommendation to you.  

Best of luck,
~JBShah
IP Logged
Isaac

« Reply #2 on: Jan 28th, 2006, 6:10am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Just remember that you are trying to predict what's going to be hot 4-5 or more years in the future.  Tech areas that looked hot in 1998-1999 appeared a lot less so by 2003.