The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Aug 5th, 2020, 1:07am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   suggestions or help
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: suggestions or help  (Read 1326 times)
LSAT

suggestions or help
« on: Nov 6th, 2005, 4:51pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

To describe myself, I have done my BS in Computer and Information System in year 2001. Since then, I am working as a Consultant in an IT firm. I have gained almost 4 years of experience. I have valid H1 visa. I would like to take a chance and see if I can start my career as an IP attorney. For this purpose, I have applied in few Law schools for upcoming Fall 2006. I still have to take LSAT.

Looking at the current IT industry, I have seen more layoffs than hires in the past few years. IT jobs are being out-sourced, and I am scared that I can hold this postition for the long period of time.  

Looking at my above senario, do you think that its worth to start my career as an IP attorney? I have absolutely no knowledge of USPTO. Is it necessary to take USPTO exam? Or is it mandated that every IP attoney should take one?
IP Logged
LSAT

Isaac Clark
« Reply #1 on: Nov 10th, 2005, 2:32pm »

Isaac Clark, can u answer this?
IP Logged
Isaac

Re: suggestions or help
« Reply #2 on: Nov 10th, 2005, 2:57pm »

I'll try, but my answer is one person's opinion.  I'll try to indicate places where my answer is only guess work.