The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Aug 4th, 2020, 7:14am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Updating resume...need advice
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Updating resume...need advice  (Read 7656 times)
Eliz

Updating resume...need advice
« on: Aug 9th, 2005, 9:17am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi everyone--I am in the process of updating my resume before I start 1L in a few weeks, and wanted some input on a few things:  

1)  As some of you may know from my earlier posts on here, I have a PhD in a biological science.  After finishing my PhD, I enrolled in a masters program in IP law at a unviersity in my area (I'll call it University A).  However, I decided I wanted to get a JD and did not finish the masters.  Technically, I guess I "dropped out" of the program, but obviously I don't want to present it that way on my resume.  My dilemma is that I want to include the information that I took these classes on my resume (I took a patent law and a patent drafting course, my GPA was very high and I got a CALI award), and I also need to account for the time between when I finished my PhD and when I am starting my JD, but I don't want to mislead anyone into thinking that I actually have the masters.  Right now, I have it under my "Education" section on my resume as:  

University A: Master of XYZ student, September 2003-December 2004.     (then listing my GPA, and elsewhere on the resume listing the CALI award).