The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Mar 28th, 2020, 11:37am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Considering Career Change to Patent Attorney
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Considering Career Change to Patent Attorney  (Read 1339 times)
rrogers

Considering Career Change to Patent Attorney
« on: Jul 13th, 2005, 4:15pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I have  25 years experience in IT, with a BS in Physics and an MSEE with top grades at good schools.  I also am 1/2 completed with an MBA. I currently have my own IT consulting firm, and am doing OK.  I am growing weary of this industry, both the type of work, and the  
demanding hours. I am a 50 year old female, and have attempted to get  part time work. I would like to have more time and flexibility for other interests, but would also like to continue with challenging work indefintely. It is almost impossible to get high paying ( $60/hr) part time work in IT.  
I am considering law school- patent law being a good fit, but I am also interested in tax and elder law. I would like to do something different, and the possibility of having my own firm that I can grow at my own pace, and work at part time well into retirement attracts me.
I have been accepted at a local law school into the part time evening program, starting this Fall. Do I have realistic expectations? After spending $80,000+ of my own money and losing  up to 4 years of productivity( and I will be 55) am I setting myself up for a big disappointment?  Is this a bad investment of my time and energy?