The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 4th, 2020, 8:23am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Patent work in Corp. v. Firm
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Patent work in Corp. v. Firm  (Read 1294 times)
Lou
Patent work in Corp. v. Firm
« on: Apr 6th, 2005, 2:24pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I'm a former examiner/patent agent ready to graduate law school. Can anyone advise on the difference in life/work balance in a firm v. corporation?

I'm definitely sticking with Patent related work.

Thanks!
IP Logged
Re: Patent work in Corp. v. Firm
« Reply #1 on: Sep 3rd, 2006, 11:06pm »

I also am in a similar situation.   Figured I would bring back the subject rather than starting a new topic again.
IP Logged
Bill Richards

WWW Email

« Reply #2 on: Sep 4th, 2006, 7:24am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I've worked for a large GP firm doing patent prep, pros, and litigation.  I've also worked in-house for a large research lab doing prep, pros, and client counseling.  I'm now a solo.  Go figure!
Unfortunately, there's as much difference among firms and among companies as between the two.  In general, however, my observations are these (individual experiences may vary):
Law firms can be much faster-paced.  Billable hours, the pressure to make partner, the sometimes fierce competition, make for an environment in which some thrive and others find stressful.  Pay can be very good and bonuses just add to it.  Depending upon the firm, there will be opportunities to try many different aspects of the practice.  For example, appeals, interferences, and litigation.