The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jun 16th, 2019, 1:18am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   PhD in Electrical Engg. & wanna be a patent ag
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: PhD in Electrical Engg. & wanna be a patent ag  (Read 3322 times)
PhD in Electrical Engg. & wanna be a patent ag
« on: Mar 24th, 2005, 12:19am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Hi,
I am doing my PhD in Electrical Engg and have no background in law; I plan to graduate soon. Can someone please help me decide whether being a patent agent is a good option for me. I have the following questions:

1. I understand that PhD in biotech sector helps a lot; what about a PhD in Elecrical Engg? Does it help or is it a burden in becoming a patent agent?

2. I have absolutely no background in law, though my goal is to eventually pass the patent bar exam and get a law degree. Is it ok to go ahead and apply for jobs without any law experience?

3. I am an international student, and would require a job visa to work in US. Also, I am pretty good in written english, but my spoken english is not as good as a native english speaker (though, in absolute terms, it is good). Would these be an issue?

Thanks in advance; it would be really helpful if someone can guide me.
IP Logged
Access Patent Group, LLC.
Re: PhD in Electrical Engg. & wanna be a paten
« Reply #1 on: Mar 28th, 2005, 2:16pm »

hi!  

Yes. Get to pass the exam first.  It will help you to land a job in patent law.  

sincerely,  

Thien Tran  
MSEE - Registered Patent Agent #47,351  
http://www.accesspatentgroup.com
IP Logged
LJP

« Reply #2 on: Mar 29th, 2005, 11:20am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify