The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jun 4th, 2020, 11:43am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Am I a biologist or an attorney?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Am I a biologist or an attorney?  (Read 1586 times)
Alicia
Am I a biologist or an attorney?
« on: Dec 12th, 2003, 3:47pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Hi Patent law Forum.

I am 2L at a 3rd tier law school, highly ranked in teaching ability but low on everything else. The school was not my first choice but I am here now. My grades are moderate at the 50% mark. I have a master's degree in molecular biology and 8 publications from academia as well as biotech.   I struggle everyday with my decision to come to law school. Fundamentally, I am a biologist but I wanted more.
Now, after having an interview at Townsend and Townsend and Crew and being considered at Sterne Kessler to no avail I am very concerned.  I am president of the IP association at my law school and have found ways to bring IP attorneys to the campus for seminars.  With all the research I have done I feel as though the future is very mirky.  It seems that the patent attorneys in the biotech field are top of their class, law review and moot court competitors.  Can anyone tell me the best way to be noticed? It seems as though I won't be able to get my foot in the door without having  better grades.  Maybe I should not be in law school b/c I love biology more than the law.  Am I fighting an uphill battle?

If anyone out there has experienced a similar cycle or turn of events and has any good insight I would love to hear it.  

Thanks.

Alicia
IP Logged
JimIvey

jamesdivey  

Re: Am I a biologist or an attorney?