The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 14th, 2020, 6:27am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   NYC market for CS patent attorney?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: NYC market for CS patent attorney?  (Read 1231 times)
N/A
NYC market for CS patent attorney?
« on: Mar 11th, 2004, 1:19pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I am a first year student at Benjamin N. Cardozo Law school in New York City.  I have an undergraduate degree in computer science (B.S.).  

How difficult do you think it will be to find a job?
IP Logged
Isaac

Re: NYC market for CS patent attorney?
« Reply #1 on: Mar 11th, 2004, 3:45pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I dunno.  You won't be graduating for a couple of years and things change.  Hopefully the market will be less difficult for entry level patent attorneys in a couple years.  

I have one piece of advice for CS majors.  I'd recommend checking to see whether you meet the academic requirements  to take the patent bar.  

A lot of CS programs even at top schools are unacredited.    The USPTO requires students of unaccredited CS programs to prove to have 40 hours of hard science/engineering work on their transcript including an 8 hour physics or chemistry sequence with labs.   It is very common that CS majors  have insufficient course work on their transcript.  

If your CS program is accredited (there is a link to a list of  accredited programs on the USPTO web site) then you don't have to worry about the course work requirements.

IP Logged

Isaac
N/A
« Reply #2 on: Mar 11th, 2004, 3:55pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove