The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Apr 1st, 2020, 3:50pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Beginning private practice
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Beginning private practice  (Read 3179 times)
thought001

Beginning private practice
« on: Feb 27th, 2004, 5:56pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I am a patent agent with a Ph.D. in Chemistry who now has one year of law firm experience.

At this time, I am considering starting my own practice for drafting and filing patent applications.  In regards to starting a private practice, I notice that docket numbers are used in law firms and seem to be required on many
USPTO documents.  
Must I use docket numbers? And if so, are there rules governing them, or can I make them any number I wish.
For example I was thinking of making the first client,
client 100 and making each case associated with that client 100-01, 100-02, etc.

Also, how important is it to begin a money account with the USPTO? I was thinking of sending a check with each filing or other response. However, I see that law firms normally have an account in case of a mistake in the check amount. Such an account allows the USPTO to draw in the event the check amount was insufficient, and to ensure the date of the response remains in effect. In effect, it is an insurance. Would such an account be considered required or very recommended for a patent agent in my position?

Anything else I must consider that may be an obstacle before I plunge into drafting and filing applications on my own?

Thanks,
Thought001
IP Logged
JimIvey

jamesdivey  

Re: Beginning private practice
« Reply #1 on: Feb 27th, 2004, 7:57pm »