The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jun 4th, 2020, 9:26am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   to PhD or not to PhD
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: to PhD or not to PhD  (Read 1523 times)
pwatt

to PhD or not to PhD
« on: Apr 25th, 2004, 5:34pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I am a newly registered patent attorney with a BS in biology, and have been having a difficult time finding a patent attorney position.I am thinking about getting a PhD in order to increase my marketability.   What are your opinions on this course of action?
« Last Edit: Apr 25th, 2004, 5:37pm by pwatt » IP Logged
JimIvey

jamesdivey  

Re:  to PhD or not to PhD
« Reply #1 on: Apr 26th, 2004, 9:24am »

Dear Pwatt,

I'll give the same advice I usually do.  Try to find someone who does what you want to do (biology patent law) and ask them.  I understand even BS degrees can find life science work, but it's harder.  If you have a really stellar law degree (honors at a top school), you might overcome the BS degree.  

Like I've said a number of times, life sciences is a specialty all its own.  You really have to speak to someone familiar with that specialty.

Regards.
IP Logged

--
James D. Ivey
Law Offices of James D. Ivey
http://www.iveylaw.com
Lisa

Re:  to PhD or not to PhD
« Reply #2 on: Apr 26th, 2004, 10:35am »

Hello,

I have a slightly different twist on the topic.  

What is the market like for PhDs (Organic Chemistry / Synthesis) with experience who have passed the agents exam but have not started law school. I do not see many agents positions opened.  

It would be nice to get a little taste of IP law as agent before diving into law school.

Thanks,
Lisa
IP Logged
perry
Re: to PhD or not to PhD