The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Feb 3rd, 2023, 7:01am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Becoming a Patent Agent/Lawyer
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   question about physics courses under option 4
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: question about physics courses under option 4  (Read 729 times)
squaredeux

question about physics courses under option 4
« on: May 29th, 2007, 12:57pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

i've always been intrinsically inclined to study computer science but for whatever reasons i majored in history and political science in college. i think i was burnt out finishing up engineering level math classes when i was 15 and 16 yrs old.

i was admitted 2 yrs ago and come this fall i will have 2+ years of solid litigation experience behind me. mostly commercial litigation (including trade secret) and labor/employment.

i've already decided that i want to pursue IP and have further decided to pass the USPTO examination.

initially, my options were to either get a 2nd bachelor's at a UC or get a masters at a Cal State. I've decided for the latter.  I fell that this is more technically feasible - getting a masters is more suited for people like me (majored in something non-engineering.)  Further, the costs are extremely favorable going to a cal state.

with that said, i know that a master's itself does not qualify you to sit for the USTPO exam. however, getting a master's in CS at a cal state basically "requires" you to have a "similar" level of competence as one would getting a bachelor's in CS.  Therefore, i plan to take a lot of my prereqs at community colleges and then take the remaining prereqs and masters level classes at the cal state.