The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Feb 2nd, 2023, 8:59am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Becoming a Patent Agent/Lawyer
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Oct 2003 Afternoon Question Help
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Oct 2003 Afternoon Question Help  (Read 548 times)
PatentExaminer
Oct 2003 Afternoon Question Help
« on: May 21st, 2007, 5:41pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I'm studying for the patent bar and in reviewing question 6 of the Oct 2003 exam questions, I'm a little confused and helpless in deciphering the MPEP. I was wondering if someone can help me with the some questions I've listed below.

1. What does the term "material" mean (MPEP 2001.05 and 37 CFR 1.56(a, c))?
2. Can someone explain to me why Tip does not have to disclose his concerns to the USPTO?

Thanks in advance.
IP Logged
tjrc

Re: Oct 2003 Afternoon Question Help
« Reply #1 on: May 23rd, 2007, 5:58pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Testing.  System rejecting my reply, thinks I'm including a URL.  

Okay, that worked, let me modify with my actual response.

This is a "prophetic invention" (a term I never encountered before studying for the patent bar): one based only on theory and never actually experimented with.

The inventors, neither in their application nor in any associated filings, ever claimed that there were any actual experiments with the moon dust, and so never did anything to mislead the PTO.