The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Feb 2nd, 2023, 9:08am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Becoming a Patent Agent/Lawyer
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   From PhD in molecular biology to  patent prac
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: From PhD in molecular biology to  patent prac  (Read 1137 times)
Neena Sharma
From PhD in molecular biology to  patent prac
« on: Mar 27th, 2007, 8:56pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Hi Everybody
This is my first post. I am almost done with my PhD. I will start my postdoc from July. In my six years of PhD, I dont think I have a thick skin to bear research pressure. I want to move to patent law and make my career in booming field.  
Q-1. I am an international student in USA (F1 visa). Is it possible or am I allowed to do this?
Q-2. I was told, contacting any big patent law firm will be helpful to start up and get trained. If its true do I have to take the bar exam or patent agent exam? Or can I take it later?
Q-3. Should I go ahead and start my postdoc and write the bar exam if its mandatory?
Please help me out here. I badly want to get out of research not because I am not interested, its not worth of time.
Thanks a lot
Neena

IP Logged
plex

Re: From PhD in molecular biology to  patent
« Reply #1 on: Mar 27th, 2007, 10:09pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

1) If you are an international, and don't have citizenship, you will have to get a job at a U.S. firm in order to qualify for the exam, as something like a scientific adviser, this may be possible since you have a PhD in a biotech related degree. Check out the application document in the OED (Office of Enrollment and Discipline) page of the USPTO.