The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 9th, 2021, 9:44am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Becoming a Patent Agent/Lawyer
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Patent Agent -> JD -> Patent Attorney
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Patent Agent -> JD -> Patent Attorney  (Read 899 times)
Dan Kog
Patent Agent -> JD -> Patent Attorney
« on: Mar 16th, 2007, 5:48pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Hi there,

I have a bachelor's in EE, and have worked as a software engineer for the last 5 years in the Bay Area.

My problem is that I THINK I want to become a patent attorney, but I'm not sure. Please, tell me if the following plan makes sense to you guys:

1) I pass the Patent Bar Exam
2) I find a job as a Patent Agent in one of the local firms (is it possible, without having or even studying for a JD?)
3) Work there for a year, and if I happen to like the work and be good at it - go for a part-time JD studies in Santa Clara University,which has a good IP reputation, I heard.
4) Getting a JD will automatically upgrade me to a Patent Attorney Smiley

Thanks!!
Daniel.
IP Logged
biopico

Re: Patent Agent -> JD -> Patent Attorney
« Reply #1 on: Mar 16th, 2007, 5:52pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

on Mar 16th, 2007, 5:48pm, Dan Kog wrote:
Hi there,

I have a bachelor's in EE, and have worked as a software engineer for the last 5 years in the Bay Area.

My problem is that I THINK I want to become a patent attorney, but I'm not sure. Please, tell me if the following plan makes sense to you guys:

1) I pass the Patent Bar Exam
2) I find a job as a Patent Agent in one of the local firms (is it possible, without having or even studying for a JD?)